Congratulations to these Award Winners!
Patrick J. Hodgins Distinguished Member Award

Sioux Falls Noon Club, North Central Federation Federation

The P.J. Hodgins Award is given annually to an outstanding Cosmopolitan for service to the Club at the local, Federation, and International level. Melvina Newman was named the recipient of the 2013 P.J. Hodgins Award at the Las Vegas International Convention. Melvina joined Cosmopolitan International in 1998 as a member of the Sioux Falls Noon Club and from the beginning she showed her commitment to Cosmopolitan. She has served and continues to serve her Club in various positions and was Club President in 2001-2002. Melvina served as Governor of the North Central Federation in 2005-2006. She has served on the CI Board as V-P of Finance, President-Elect, and as the International President in 2009-2010. Currently, Melvina is serving on the Cosmopolitan Diabetes Foundation as its Chair. Melvina is the consummate advocate of Cosmopolitan and the work the organizations and Clubs do.
Congratulations, Melvina!
Cosmo of the Year

Rapid City Club, North Central Federation

Jim Schuh of the Rapid City Cosmopolitan Club and the North Central Federation was named 2013 Cosmo of the Year.  Jim has been a Cosmo member since 2005.  He is currently serving as editor of the Ray’s Newsletter and maintains the website and Facebook.  Among his other talents, Jim is the club’s photographer and has chaired many events and fundraisers for the club.  +Jim is very active within the community serving as board member of his church, Chapel in the Hills, and Germans from Russia.  He volunteers for habitat for Humanity is his spare time.  Jim can be found helping other people in his community along with family responsibilities.  Jim is a true Cosmo at heart.   Congratulations, Jim, and thank you for how you represent Cosmopolitan in your club and community of Rapid City.
Congratulations to Jim!
Member Community Service Award

Rockford Club, Mid-States Federation

Steve Elsberg of the Rockford Club and the Mid-States Federation was named the 2013 Member Community Service Award winner.  Steve has been a Cosmo since 1981.  He has been very active in his club by being president (1986) and Cosmo of the Year (2004). He has served on the board and the Charities Board as chairman.  Steve is an outstanding Cosmo with exemplary achievements in his family life, business standing in the community, civic service, community affairs and Rockford Club activities.  Steve is serving as a board member on several community organizations to continue to help the Rockford Club and community to grow and thrive.  Congratulations, Steve and thank you for what you do to make your community better.
Great job, Steve!
Governor of the Year

Sioux City Club, Cornbelt Federation

Richard Gordon of the Sioux City Cosmopolitan Club and the Cornbelt Federation was named the 2013 Governor of the Year.  Richard is very active in his local club, in the Federation level, and International level. He is now V.P. of Membership of CI and has hit the ground running with ideas to improve and to increase membership in clubs of United States and Canada. As Governor of the Cornbelt Federation in 2012-2013, Richard wanted to help CI to raise money for expenses.  He volunteered to carve an Eagle catching a fish to illustrate Cosmo members “Strength and Perseverance” to keep CI strong and moving forward. This project was a success in helping CI financially.  Thank you, Cosmos, for working hard in this huge project.  Congratulations, Richard, thank you for your dedication to Cosmos everywhere.
Great job, Richard!
Club President of the Year

Rockford Club, Mid-States Federation

Dayton Smith III, Rockford Club President, was named the Cosmopolitan President of the Year for his work with his Club. Dayton received his Award at the Cosmopolitan International Convention in Las Vegas. Through his year as Rockford President, Dayton directed a year of membership increase, record fundraising, civic service initiatives, social events, community presence, and the transfer of the Club's website to the new Cosmopolitan International format. Dayton's leadership assisted the Rockford Club in moving forward into future years.
Congratulations, Dayton!
Rookie of the Year

Evening Club of Sioux Falls, North Central Federation

Ludene McLeod, Cosmopolitan Evening Club of Sioux Falls, was named the 2013 Rookie of the Year at the Las Vegas International Convention. As the name implies, Ludene is a new member that has already impacted her Club. Within a couple of weeks of joining her Club, she volunteered to Chair the Club's largest fundraiser, The Cosmo Comedy for the Cure. Ludene has also assisted with various other Club events and fundraisers. She regularly volunteers to assist the Sioux Falls Noon Club with their annual golf outing and other events put on by them. Ludene is simply one of those people who says “YES” when asked to volunteer or do things for others. Ludene has been described as a dedicated Cosmopolitan and well deserving of the Award.
Great work, Ludene, and welcome to Cosmo!

Best Website:

Omaha/Cornhuskers - Candy Gorton/Dick Gorton/Robert Hansen, Webmasters


Fremont 100 - Myrna Meister/Carolyn Nelson, Editors

Top Bulletin:

Lawrence River City Nancy Donahey, Editor

Club Community Service:


50th Anniversary Club:

Jefferson City

Big C:

Columbia Show-Me, Fremont 100, Lawrence River City, Omaha/ Cornhuskers, Roanoke, Rockford